last week of grain-free

26 Nov

I haven’t been able to keep track of everything I’ve eaten. I’ve also lost track of what day I’m up to. Excuses? Excuses are boring. On Saturday I became really frustrated with this grain-free business. Social eating has never been more frustrating.

At the team BBQ after the regatta, even though it was BYO meat (which I did), I had only a steak and a chicken skewer. I had to stay away from the sausages, and the skewer was probably marinated with grainy stuff. The lovely meat I bought from the boutique butcher didn’t make it to the barbecue, because it burst it into flames. Famished and frustrated, I gorged myself silly on apple cider.
In the evening I was invited to a friend’s house for a homemade supper of, wait for it, sausages. I politely declined my invitation, because there’s grain in sausages!
Upon returning home rather late in the evening, I gave myself a pep talk while cooking myself a very late supper. It went something like this:

Stop feeling sorry for yourself because of what you can’t eat. True, this diet could be a bunch of baloney, but once you’ve started something, you’re going to finish it.

So I came up with my first proper recipe… I’ll call it… Beef Coconut Curry with Pumpkin and Spinach (yep, capitalised, bold and underlined, just like a real recipe)

300g pumpkin diced
500g chuck steak diced (bitesize)
1 brown onion diced
750ml water
1 tsp fennel seeds
1 tsp dried basil
Half can coconut cream
1 bunch spinach

For the marinade
2 inch piece ginger minced
3 cloves garlic minced
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp salt
2 tsp water
1 tsp soy sauce (optional)
1 tsp corn starch (optional)

1. Mix marinade ingredients together with beef. Leave for half an hour.
2. Brown beef in a hot pan.
3. Boil water in stockpot. Add beef into stockpot. Stir for 2 minutes.
4. Add onions, pumpkin and herbs. Cover and simmer for 30 minutes.
5. Stir in coconut cream and spinach. Serve when spinach is cooked.

 

Leave a Reply

